This information applies to SmarterMail and the SmarterMail web-based email interface.
When you delete a message from anywhere besides the Deleted Items folder, it will first move the message to the Deleted Items
folder. The Deleted Items folder is a special folder that acts like
the Recycle Bin on a Windows/Mac desktop. This is to prevent you from
accidently deleting an email message by mistake and allows you to
restore the email message if needed. To permanently delete the
message(s) and free up email disk space, you will need to select the
Deleted Items folder and perform the delete operation again on the
messages stored here. This will remove the email from the servers.
Please note that you will not be able to undo this operation.